Calls for Abstracts
Here's Why Your Colleagues Present Their Abstracts with SIS
Presenting a Research Abstract at an SIS Meeting is Your Opportunity to:
  • Make Connections
  • Raise Your Profile
  • Get Feedback on Your Research
  • Foster Additional Studies
  • Find Mentorship 

2020 Winter Seminar

Park City, Utah

February 6-9, 2020

OPEN NOW: August 12 – October 15, 2019

See below for requirements and instructions. To submit your abstract, click HERE.

2020 SpineWeek

Melbourne, Australia

April 27 – May 1, 2020

OPEN NOW: June 24 – October 15, 2019

For submission instructions and an online submission form, click HERE.

2020 European Congress

Dubrovnik, Croatia

May 22-24, 2020

Abstract Submission: November 4, 2019 – January 13, 2020

2020 Annual Meeting

San Diego, California

August 5-8, 2020

Abstract Submission: November 4, 2019 – February 17, 2020

Annual Meeting - Best Abstract Recognition Awards

Click here to see the list of award winners.  

General Information 
  • Original research abstracts may be solicited for podium presentation or poster presentation.
  • Abstracts that are not selected for podium presentation may be accepted as a poster presentation.
  • Case studies may be submitted as abstracts.
  • Preference will be given to original research that has not been presented elsewhere.
  • Due to the ACCME Accreditation Criteria and Standards, SIS cannot display industry-sponsored research posters during any poster session that offers CME credit. Posters from research by commercial interests (defined by the ACCME as "any entity producing, marketing, re-selling, or distributing health care goods or services consumed by or used on patients") will be displayed separately.

  • All abstracts selected for presentation from the podium or as a poster at the Annual Meeting will be published in Pain Medicine.
  • Podium and poster presenters will receive a $100 discount on Annual Meeting registration.

 Submitter Requirements

  1. In order to maintain an investigator-driven process, the submitter of the abstract should be the first (primary) author. Staff representatives from industry are not allowed to submit original research abstracts on behalf of an investigator. All abstract correspondence will be sent to the submitter (first/primary author).
  2. If selected for presentation, the presenter need not be the first/primary author but must have been involved in the research. Once identified, SIS staff will communicate directly with the presenter regarding meeting logistics.
  3. All authors must complete the financial disclosure survey by the submission deadline. Submissions without disclosures will not be evaluated.

Poster Presentation with Authors Sessions

All events will include a Poster Presentation with Authors session offering CME credit. This is an opportunity for authors to showcase their research. Presenting authors are expected to attend and present their poster to attendees during this session; if an author accepts the invitation but fails to present his or her poster, that may preclude future submissions.

Annual Meeting - Abstract Awards

All abstracts submitted for the SIS Annual Meeting will be evaluated for recognition as "Best Clinical Abstract" and "Best Basic Science Abstract."

Fellows and residents are especially invited to submit their research for consideration of the Best Fellow Abstract or Best Resident Abstract Awards. To be eligible for these awards, the fellow and resident must be first author of their abstract submissions. Fellows and residents need not be SIS members; however, at least one senior co-author/advisor must be a member in good standing. Winning abstracts will be presented from the podium. Documentation of active participation in a residency or fellowship program is required.

Best Fellow Abstract and Best Resident Abstract Award winners will receive the following assistance from the Society to attend the Annual Meeting:

  • Waived registration fee
  • Two nights' lodging at the meeting hotel
  • Up to $500 toward airfare and ground transportation
  • $40 per day (up to 2 days) meal allowance

Financial Disclosure Requirement

ALL authors must complete the Spine Intervention Society’s Disclosure Survey prior to the submission deadline.

Access the disclosure survey HERE.

Abstract Formatting Requirements
  • Use Times New Roman, 10 pt font.

  • Title: Capitalize appropriate words. Do not enter all words in upper case. 

  • Abstracts must be formatted with the following headings: summary of background data, objectives, methods, results, and discussions/conclusion. Case reports can have a combination of these headings plus case description and case diagnosis sections.

  • Formatting Guidelines: abstracts must be submitted as a MS Word document; no figures, photos, or tables please.

  • Abstracts must be 300 words or less, with a maximum of 3 references; the title, author names and affiliations, and references do not count in the 300 word limit.

  • References should follow the Vancouver (or numerical) system. Identify with Arabic numerals inside parentheses. A full list of references should be provided in numerical order, sequentially as they appear in the text. Do not alphabetize.
  • Above the abstract body, list out authors' names and affiliations per the example below.

    Sarah K Scientist, MD, sks@domain.edu1, Neil A. Investigator, MD1, Dana L XXXX, MD1, Angela XXXXX, BA2, (1) Main Street Medical Center, Local University, Science City, CA, (2) State University, New York, NY

Download the abstract template HERE.



Contact Us

120 E. Ogden Ave. Ste. 202
Hinsdale, Illinois 60521
P: 630.203.2252
Toll Free: 888.255.0005

© Copyright 2019 Spine Intervention Society 501(c)( 3) Privacy Policy  ::  Legal